6. Victory for Valentino

Click here for the complete collection on Style.com.

Okay, it’s a smidge Balmain, and a little bit Rodarte, and I think I whiff a bit of Lanvin, but I’m really happy with where Maria Grazia Chiuri and Pier Paolo Piccioli are taking the house after the controversy and confusion that the house of Valentino has suffered over the last several seasons. There were some pieces too that didn’t seem to quite fit with the rest of the collection but this is a minor complaint. Or rather the off pieces didn’t disrupt what is otherwise WOW.

I love how the nude works with that shot of yellow and moody blue eyes.

They called the whole thing “the Garden of Eden in the cyberworld” and I dig that about this. But to me it seems very “runaway boho princess on a vision quest in the desert.”

How cool is the color blocking here? How ohh-las-laa are these colors together?

The color palette is unquestionably good and while it calls forth other houses as much as Valentino (so little red!), there’s still innovation to be found in the recycling. In fact, the more I look at this, the more I like.

Like this, for example? Swoon.

Yes, we’ve got draping, nudes, and color blocking. All of which have been done many times over as of late, but the it all feels fresh and inventive here.

Especially the color-blocking.

You can see the Garden of Eden in these hints and peeks at nudes and nudity, and there is an air of a future world, but to me--I'm tellin'ya--it's runaway princess on a vision quest in the desert all the way. She maybe took up with bandits. Or dances for buskers and gypsies.

We’ve also seen designers really play with pants (and pantslessness) lately but these new models seems truly original, flattering, and cool.

Um, yeah. I know. Wicked.

Moreover, the line itself managed to be cohesive without being the least bit repetitive. Each piece is unique and stands alone, but taken together all of the pieces unify in one tone, one mood.

And can we talk about the styling for a sec? Because I need to do this to my eyes. And the body paint is so otherworldly. Maybe the princess is from another planet? Like Superman or the Little Prince. In any case, I want. This is a night-time look though. Obvs.

Again, Maria, Pier Paolo, Grazi.

Yes, please.

All images taken from Style.com.

Leave a Reply

