8. So-So Chanel

Click here for the complete collection on Style.com.

Okay, I’m probably going to get hate mail after this,1 but Karl Lagerfeld is just not my favorite. I get that he’s done amazing work but I’m just not sure he’s at the top of his game any longer. I hated the clogs and many of the looks in Chanel Spring 2010 RTW and this collection just feels half-assed in places. Maybe it’s just that Karl (can I call you Karl?) says such crazy shit and I wish his clothes were as noteworthy as his bons mots.2 Maybe I just expect too much from Lagerfeld and the House of Chanel.

I do adore this color. But then I look rad in this color, so there you go.

HATE. (Seriously though, how dead-on cool are these metallic, fingerless, Karl-bot gloves?)

The Chanel tweed is a stand-by and I love it (again and again, I will covet you forever Classic Chanel Tweed) but these iterations don’t do a lot to impress me. The palette does little to woo. It’s certainly season appropriate but that suitability–compounded, I think, by the kitsch and quirk of the awesome hair– comes off too twee for the brand.

Detailing done divine.

In places, the metallic detailing advances the overall aesthetic and adds to the already luxe tweed. In other places, it is overboard, seems sloppy, and risks drowning all that tiny Karl touts so much.

And here the metallic is too much. TOO MUCH.

Things I love: the Minnie Mouse hair, those metallic gloves (le sigh), those spaceman booties, the tulle bows in those bouffant mouse-ear nests and at the model’s swan necks, the pretty dresses, the simple metallic detailing.

See here's pretty dress.

Oooh look: Another pretty dress.

Things I hate: those sparkly tights, the shorts,3 the other dresses, the over-the-top detailing.

The worst dress of some very bad and just not great dresses. This may be the fugliest, illest-fittingest dress in all the land.

1. Yeah right. Like anyone but my friends are even reading this. Hi, friends!
2. Some people hate shorts on principal. I am not one of those people. I just don’t like these shorts. They do not flatter.
3. No joke, Karl Lagerfeld says the craziest, off-the-cuff stuff. Some of it is mean or ignorant, some of it brilliant, and some of it totally bat shit. Have you seen Karl Lagerfeld’s Guide to Life? It’s not real, but fakekarl.com and the real Karl? They’re pretty toe-to-toe on the WTF quotient.

Leave a Reply

