Wishlist Item #002: Gold? Pants!

It began when Ralph Lauren sent these beautiful, sparking creations down the runway for his Spring 2009 show–a show which really should be admired in its entirety, if you have the time and inclination. However irrationally, my heart took  a hit when I saw these.

Gold! Gold! Gold! Gold! /Bright and yellow, hard and cold

I mean, I know they’re probably challenging to credibly wear in the real world, but, come on: huminah, huminah, huminah.

And when Chloé (also S/S 2009) sent these wow-diculous trousers (below) down the runway, I only thought of Ralph’s and how I longed to hold them in my ams.

Molten, graven, hammered and rolled, /Heavy to get and light to hold,

Double ditto for this Naeem Kahn iteration (below, also S/S 2009), which are infinitely more wearable than the paper bag trousers above.

Hoarded, bartered, bought and sold, /Stolen, borrowed, squandered, doled,

This is a palpable, almost painful, desire for gold lamé and/or gold sequin pants. And I drooled a little every time I saw this perfect pair.

Spurned by young, but hung by old/ To the verge of a church yard mold;

But I’d nearly shaken it, really I had. The daydreams and yearnings had become almost infrequent. But now I’m going through Lanvin’s Spring 2010 RTW collection, because I love Alber Elbaz and you will see more of this soon, and these two jumpsuits throw me back into the whirlwind of unrequited, unreasonable want.

Price of many a crime untold./ Gold! Gold! Gold! Gold!

As a side note Iris Strubegger is awesome. And alas Alber Elbaz always makes me covet things I’ll never touch. Where are my gold pants?

Good or bad a thousand fold!/ How widely it agencies vary,

I would also be happy to give home to these versions below from Kenzo Spring 2010, another recent reminder of this year-plus-old obsession.

To save, to ruin, to curse, to bless, /As even its minted coins express:

Of course, Balmain loves shit like this. And then Balenciaga S/S 2007 is the gold standard (har!) for crazy, gold pants. I love this Numero Tokyo (April 2007) cover with Kate Moss.

Now stamped with the image of Queen Bess, /And now of a bloody Mary.

So doled or stolen, bartered or borrowed, I would very much like to own a my own pair of not-at-all-practical, gold, crazy pants. Please. Thank you. That is all.

Notes: The poem quoted, in its entirety, throughout the photo captions, is “Gold” by Thomas Hood (23 May 1799-3 May 1845). All runway images are taken from style.com. The model wearing those perfect gold trousers on the runway is the same model wearing them in the Ralph Lauren ad, Valentina Zelyaeva.

2 thoughts on “Wishlist Item #002: Gold? Pants!”

  1. i too am lusting after gold pants! where can I get some?! I may learn how to sew just to have some gold pants=)
    \

Leave a comment